Last Night’s Moon

Back in 1986, I remember my parents dragging me out of bed in the middle of the night to see Haley’s Comet. We all traipsed out into the yard with a bunch of our neighbors and saw this fuzzy thing in the sky. Being that I was like 13 years old and REALLY tired, I didn’t really care. But now, I’m kinda glad they made me get up and see it. I don’t remember it being anything spectacular– I am not 100% sure I really saw it, but I am glad to have the memory since it won’t be back again until 2061. (I know, I know. 1986 was the worst year in history to see the Comet, but, we were near the Equator in Panama, far from lots of light pollution, so it wasn’t as bad as it could have been.)

So when I heard about the moon tonight, I just HAD to shoot it. All the talk about how big it was supposed to be, I just couldn’t pass up the opportunity, right? So I hoofed it out there after the kids went to bed, snapped off a couple or 20 shots of the moon, and came back inside to sit at the computer and look at the moon some more. Will the moon every be this big again? When it is, will I be young enough to care? Who knows. But it sure was pretty up there, shining brightly in the sky, breeze blowing. It may not be Haley’s Comet, but at least I will really remember it this time!

 

About juliephelpsphotography

To take photographs means to recognize -- simultaneously and within a fraction of a second -- both the fact itself and the rigorous organization of visually perceived forms that give it meaning. It is putting one's head, one's eye and one's heart on the same axis. - Henri Cartier-Bresson View all posts by juliephelpsphotography

Leave a Reply

